Arising from the Troubles

History can relay the facts but sometimes it takes a song to sing the feelings. Such feelings when ignored can all too easily be repeated by another generation.

Most of these songs were written by Tommy Sands and inspired by events and people from both sides of the conflict between 1969 and 2011 and many have never before been recorded or available. These are songs arising out of ‘The Troubles’ songs of lamentation, inspiration and celebration.

Special Guests
The Sands Family: Anne, Ben, Colum & ‘Dino’, Pete Seeger, Tao Rodriguez Seeger, Dolores Keane, Steve Cooney, Arty McGlynn, Donal Lunny, Bojan Andic, John Fitzpatrick, Lisa Gutkin, Greg Anderson, Richard Parkes, Liam Bradley, Rod McVey, Different Drums, Tom Newman, Andy Seward, John Tams, Andy Cutting, John McCusker


Tracks Include:

  1. Song of Erin
  2. A Stone’s Throw (featuring Moya)
  3. The Mixed Marriage (w/Dolores Keane)
  4. We’ll Sing It All Over
  5. Bloody Sunday (featuring Moya)
  6. Have You Seen Joe Cahill
  7. The Road to Aughnacloy
  8. A Call to Hope
  9. You Sold Us Down the River
  10. Troubles (featuring Moya)
  11. Bessbrook Lament
  12. All the Little Children
  13. Sailing through the Sky
  14. A Quiet Man (The Ballad of John Hume)
  15. Music of Healing (w/Pete Seeger)
  16. Carry On
  17. Silent No Longer (featuring Moya)
  18. The Lagan Side